About Cappagh National School


St. Colman’s N.S. endeavours to recognise, develop and appreciate the dignity and uniqueness of each child in an atmosphere that is conductive to learning. The self-actualisation of its pupils will be facilitated through the promotion of a positive self-image and the development of a love of learning. 


Provide an atmosphere that will encourage learning. Promote co-operation among pupils, parents, staff, Board of Management and the wider community. Create an environment where the dignity and the uniqueness of each child is appreciated. 


It is envisaged that the learning would take place in an environment which is safe, happy and secure for both pupils and staff. Day to day interactions with the school community will reflect Christian values and instil respect for all creation.

Our History

Cappagh N.S. was built in 1975 to replace the National Schools at Kilmurry and Kilclonfert. The school buildings at Kilmurry and Kilclonfert now serve as community centres.

The school is named St. Colman’s N.S. as it is located near the well of St. Colman. Mr Ambrose Mangan has maintained the well since 1984.

Feast Day: 3rd of September
Pattern Day: 15th of August 

An Incredible Faculty

The staff of Cappagh N.S. is made up of 

Five Mainstream class teachers, One Learning support Teacher, One Resource Teacher, One full time SNA, our Secretary Yvonne and Una our Cleaner. 


Ms. Natalie Kelly is the Principal of St.Colman’s National School.

Ms.Kelly is also part of the Special Educational Needs Team.

Deputy Principal

Mrs. Maria Geraghty is Deputy Principal and also head of the Special Education Needs Department


Yvonne McDonald is our Secretary and also works with Ballycommon Local Development, Afterschool and Preschool. Yvonne can be contacted at school on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays from 9.20 -3pm

Mr. Colin O'Meara

Mr.O’Meara is our 3rd and 4th Class teacher. 

Mr. O’ Meara is also the Assistant Principal 2 in the school and a member of the Droichead Team.

Mrs. Mary Dunican

Mrs. Dunican is our 6th Class Teacher.

Mrs. Dunican is also part of our Droichead Team in the school.

Mrs. Lorna Hopkins

Mrs. Hopkins is our Junior and Senior Infant Teacher.

Ms. Brid Cocoman

Ms. Cocoman is our 4th and 5th Class teacher.

Ms. Deirdre Egan

Ms. Egan is our 1st & 2nd Class teacher and is our staff representative on the Board of Management.